Skip to content

New Here?

Everytown For Gun Safety Action Fund Endorses Local Volunteers In Ten States Ahead Of 2021 Elections

September 10, 2021

Since 2017, Hundreds of Moms Demand Action Volunteer Leaders Have Run for Elected Office and Dozens Have Won Seats, Including 43 Who Won in 2020

NEW YORK — Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund today endorsed Moms Demand Action volunteers running for office across ten states. Dozens of Moms Demand Action volunteers are running for office across the country this year. 

Since 2017, hundreds of Moms Demand Action volunteer leaders have run for elected office and dozens have won seats – from town council and school board to U.S. Congress, including 43 who won in 2020. These endorsed candidates are key members of the gun violence prevention movement.

“Moms Demand Action volunteers have already proven that they will do whatever it takes to keep their communities safe, so it comes as no surprise that a growing number of them are making the jump from influencing laws to writing them,” said John Feinblatt, president of Everytown for Gun Safety. “Everytown is proud to endorse these volunteers, whose leadership in the gun violence prevention movement will help them hit the ground running after they’re elected.”

“Moms Demand Action volunteers are leaders in their communities, organizing, advocating, and helping affect change each and every day — which is what makes them such effective elected officials,” said Shannon Watts, founder of Moms Demand Action. “These volunteers have already shown that they’ll do whatever it takes to keep our communities safe from gun violence, and I’m thrilled to see them continue that work as candidates and in office.”

Everytown today endorsed for the September 14 special election:

  • Iowa: Andrea Phillips, running for Iowa State House (District 37) 

Everytown today endorsed for the November 2 general election: 

  • Colorado: Hannah Gay Keao, running City Council in Edgewater
  • Connecticut: Christine Brown, running for Representative Town Meeting Member (District 9) in Fairfield
  • Florida: Nicolette Springer, running for City Commissioner (District 3) in Orlando
  • Georgia: Devin Pandy, running for Mayor in Gainesville
  • Iowa: Hope Johnson, running for City Council in Clive
  • Massachusetts: Anne Thalheimer, running for City Council (Ward 3) in Holyoke
  • Minnesota: Rebecca Gierok, running for ISD 196 School Board 
  • New Jersey: Emily Jabbour, running for City Council (At-Large) in Hoboken
  • New Mexico: Emilie De Angelis, running for City Council (District 7) in Albuquerque 
  • Ohio: Aftab Pureval, running for Mayor in Cincinnati
  • Ohio: Maureen Washock, running for Board of Education in Mayfield City

If you're a member of the media, please send inquiries to [email protected]