Skip to content

New Here?

Everytown for Gun Safety Endorses 40 Moms Demand Action Volunteers Running for Office

October 7, 2022

More Than 265 Moms Demand Action & Students Demand Action Volunteers Endorsed This Cycle

NEW YORK — Today, Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund endorsed an additional 40 Moms Demand Action volunteers running for office across the country. The volunteers endorsed today represent the growing power of Moms Demand Action and Students Demand Action volunteers as candidates for office and marks more than 265 Moms Demand Action and Students Demand Action volunteers running for elected office across the country in the 2021-22 election cycle. A full list of endorsed candidates is available here and today’s endorsements are listed below. 

“Ending our gun violence epidemic requires passing strong gun laws, and that requires electing strong gun safety champions,” said John Feinblatt, president of Everytown for Gun Safety. “We’re proud to endorse these Moms Demand Action volunteers who are already walking the walk on gun safety.”  

“Our rights, our safety, and our freedoms are on the ballot this November and there are no stronger fighters to protect our communities than Moms Demand Action and Students Demand Action volunteers,” said Shannon Watts, founder of Moms Demand Action. “We’re incredibly proud to endorse our volunteers who are looking to take the step from activist to lawmaker by Demanding a Seat at every level of government – and our grassroots army of fellow volunteers are fired up to help get them elected.” 

The full list of candidates endorsed today is available below:

  • Alabama: Mallory Hagan, running for State House (District 25)
  • California: Dr. Priya Bhat-Patel, running for Carlsbad City Council (District 3)
  • California: Nicole Gardner, running for Novato City Council (District 4)
  • California: Rebecca Hindman, running for William S. Hart School Board, (Area 5), Santa Clarita 
  • California: Cherise Khaund, running for Mt Diablo Unified School District Board of Trustees (District 4)
  • California: James Kyriaco, running for Goleta City Council (District 2)
  • California: Latika Malkani, running for Orinda City Council
  • California: Lainie Motamedi, running for San Francisco Unified School District Board
  • California: Julie Testa, running for Pleasanton City Council (District 3)
  • Florida: Denise Horland, running for Plantation City Council (District 2)
  • Florida: Miguellaile Pierre, running for Lauderhill City Commissioner (Seat 4)
  • Florida: Michele Rayner, running for State House (District 62)
  • Illinois: Mary Beth Canty, running for State House (District 54)
  • Illinois: Sara Knizhnik, running for Lake County Board (District 18)
  • Illinois: Anne Stava-Murray, running for State House (District 81)
  • Illinois: Jessica Vealitzek, running for Lake County Board (District 10)
  • Indiana: Joellyn Mayer, running for State House (District 24)
  • Kansas: Kim Zito, running for State House (District 67)
  • Michigan: Carin Meyer, running for Northville Public School Board
  • Michigan: Melissa Stuart, running for Northville Public School Board
  • Missouri: Maggie Nurrenbern, running for State House (District 15)
  • Nevada: Pat Spearman, running for North Las Vegas Mayor
  • New Hampshire: Sue Newman, running for State House (Hillsborough District 4)
  • New Hampshire: Ray Newman, running for State House (Hillsborough District 4)
  • New Hampshire: Loren Selig, running for State House (Strafford District 10)
  • New Jersey: Graelynn McKeown, running for West Windsor-Plainboro Board of Education
  • New Jersey: Andrea Podgarsky, running for Nutley Board of Education
  • North Carolina: Maria Cervania, running for State House (District 41)
  • Ohio: Nancy Larson, running for State House (District 41)
  • Oklahoma: Steve Jarman, running for  State House (District 42)
  • Oregon: Beach Pace, running for Hillsboro City Council (Ward 1)
  • Rhode Island: Justine Caldwell, running for State House (District 30)
  • Rhode Island: Teresa Tanzi, running for State House (District 34)
  • Rhode Island: Bridget Valverde, running for State Senate (District 35)
  • South Dakota: Sheryl Johnson, running for State Senate (District 11)
  • Tennessee: Aislinn McEwen, running for Bartlett School Board
  • Vermont: Emma Mulvaney-Stanak, running for State House (Chittenden District 17)
  • Virginia: Shirley Auguste, running for Chesapeake School Board
  • Virginia: Blaizen Bloom, running for Chesapeake School Board
  • Virginia: Lisa Anne Stevens, running for City of Manassas School Board

Last year, Everytown for Gun Safety Victory Fund launched “Demand a Seat,” a new program that trains volunteers and gun violence survivors to run for office and work on campaigns, with 390 volunteers graduating or participating in candidate boot camps to date. The program will invest $3 million in educational training and mentorship opportunities for grassroots volunteers considering campaigns at the local, state, and federal levels. More information on Demand a Seat can be found here.

Since 2017, hundreds of Moms Demand Action volunteer leaders have run for elected office and dozens have won seats – from town council and school board to U.S. Congress. This year, a historic number of Moms Demand Action and Students Demand Action volunteers are running for office, building a bench of gun violence prevention advocates who are also elected officials. 

If you're a member of the media, please send inquiries to [email protected]